X ring or thimble

Hosocat

Just starting to get into rigging rings. Any thoughts on the notch black x rings compared to the notch silver rigging thimble rings? The large x ring is about the same dimensions as the medium notch thimble ring. The thimble rings are cheaper. Is there any apprdciable difference in friction between the two?

Benjo75

The triple thimble is designed for adjustable aerial friction. Rings don't have a lot of friction. You'll still need basal friction. I've been using Safeblocs for a few years and love it. I've started using rings lately. Haven't tried the triple thimble yet. People seem to like it.

Benjo75

I see there are Notch thimble rings. I thought you were talking the triple thimble. The difference will be the coating. Different coatings will have different friction and different wear factor. I think the X rings have a really long lasting coat and that means less friction. Uncoated rings won't last as long but would have slightly more friction. Probably not enough to be noticeable though.

eyehearttrees

I have several of both and they both run the same, no wear and tear or worn out ones yet.
Same (have notch branded safebloc with the matte coating, x-branded rings w/ matte coating & with satin coating, and elevation canada rings w/ satin coating)

I think the lack of images online of worn-out anodization speaks volumes to how diesel the stuff is (last I checked there's that 1 torn-to-hell example, if you read its thread the guy was dragging lots of stuff in a gritty parking lot so was basically an expected result) I'm not that careful with mine anymore, after finding that lil dings don't "rapidly progress" like one may fear they would! (though to be fair I did recently get these large 1gal thick freezer bags to bring my nicer slings in, in fact I think I'm gonna use them today/now...am totally hesitating/procrastinating from a job/cut right now LOL)