Topped then neglected, now I need to climb it.

Dwayne9952

Greetings, I'm looking for input from seasoned, veteran climbers. I'm rather new to this stuff.
I have a Silver Maple that was topped to about 30 or 35 feet, about 15 to 20 years ago, and then left to do its own thing. The sucker growth at the topping wounds grew upward, now reaching 20 to 25 feet in length. What I have is several stems that look like "Thing" from the Addams Family but with the fingers pointing up. Add in decay starting in the "palm" and running down the center of the "wrist" and you will have a good picture of what I am dealing with.
Residential area, targets everywhere! The outside of each "finger" looks like it has knit well with the stubs left from the topping. The inside edges are not secured to much, and what is there is hollowing out.
I was thinking about a few approaches. One is, tie the fingers together, loop them to each other and climb past the stabilization(s) until I am high enough to cut pieces safe to drop or rig down. Climbing any one by itself would result in it falling out from the palm, I am sure. With the support of the other fingers I think the clusters will hold. Also, as I get about 15 feet or so above the old topping point, the fingers might actually be able to be pulled together enough to touch.
Another idea I would like opinions on was to try "salami cuts" and drop the fingers straight down through the rest of the canopy. My main concerns with this are, 1) that's a rather advanced technique and I'm still a tenderfoot, 2) I don't know if my saw would cut fast enough for it to work in the first place. I can practice to help decide about the saw's performance, so maybe that isn't really an issue. Still, though, a 20 to 25 foot limb dropping straight down from 30 or 35 feet is not real appealing to me.
I am wide open for suggestions! A bucket truck or platform lift cannot access the tree due to the targets I mentioned earlier or this would already be done!