'SWL/WLL'.....am starting to think this isn't a proper approach to rigging-lines (v. "where's the bounce?" :) )

eyehearttrees

I'm hoping to discuss/learn a bit more on this topic before I begin contacting a couple manufacturers with pointed-questions, I'm new to real rigging but I've got a pretty solid understanding on the basics of dynamic-forces and I am just hitting a wall with the state of arboricultural rigging-ropes....My biggest gripes (or, perhaps, misunderstandings) are:

1 - The concept of a "SWL/WLL" for rigging, the way that it's commonly done, is just a silly way to approach understanding what your line can & cannot be expected to control. It is a metric wherein a line's STATIC tensile-strength is the baseline, and then, based on, it seems, the rigger's intuitions&experiences, a SWL/WLL is chosen -- this seems to be the default approach of rigging today. A line's elasticity seems to be an after-thought, when in reality it's just-as-critical as the static-tensile-ABS metric, in fact in some cases *more* important, for example: If someone snaps their Tenex/Yalex sling, the thought is generally "get a larger diameter", with almost nobody saying "uhh, these HMPE slings have low stretch, so for the same reason we wouldn't use Amsteel/dyneema here *despite* it's static-ABS, the upgrade from 3/4" tenex/yalex shouldn't be to 7/8" of the same, but rather to 3/4" of Polydyne with its 3% stretch" That latter sentiment is how things *should* be, based on how I understand force-vectors when you're slowing/controlling a descending log with a line that has stretch, yet static-MBS is the major metric used?