Some questions for you lovely climbers about an app for finding good trees to climb

lukehesluke

Hi guys. I'm a bit of a novice climber, having just free climbed trees wherever I've found them. I loooove doing it when I can but hard pressed to find good spots in the city (live in London)

Soooo, I want to make a web app to help find good spots nearby. As I'm just a novice, I'd love to get you guys' feedback on this idea and answers to some questions:

What kinds of things do you want to know about a tree before you climb it. Free climbing vs rope climbing, easy vs hard, pictures, description, etc

Are there safety concerns to take into account giving information about potentially risky trees to any idiot

Are there environmental concerns with having potentially dozens (hundreds?) of people coming to climb the same tree

Is this just a stupid idea? Should I just go out to a park before engineering an entire website?

Any other general feedback on what you think about this idea? Especially interested to know if other cityfolk think this would help them

Thanks much you guys

NorCalBrock

Hi guys. I'm a bit of a novice climber, having just free climbed trees wherever I've found them. I loooove doing it when I can but hard pressed to find good spots in the city (live in London)

Soooo, I want to make a web app to help find good spots nearby. As I'm just a novice, I'd love to get you guys' feedback on this idea and answers to some questions:

What kinds of things do you want to know about a tree before you climb it. Free climbing vs rope climbing, easy vs hard, pictures, description, etc

Are there safety concerns to take into account giving information about potentially risky trees to any idiot

Are there environmental concerns with having potentially dozens (hundreds?) of people coming to climb the same tree

Is this just a stupid idea? Should I just go out to a park before engineering an entire website?