Sequoia srt

treeweaver

I have been climbing srt exclusively for the last five years, three on a uni and two on a wrench. I now though have my first srt harness, I just retired my treemotion which I loved but wanted a change.
My question is does anyone use the fixed attachment point for anything other than a croll. I don't see much use for the croll unless I do a rec climb somewhere where they are bigger trees. For the last couple of years I have been ascending frog walker style with a petzl voltige chest harness clipped into the middle hole of the HC wich pulls up my system. I might never need that attachment point on the sequoia but I preferred it to the regular model so I could lose the waist buckle. Just wondering if there is something clever I can do with it.
Luke, thanks so much for that extra bridge you threw in there, you are the best.

oceans

Good post, Dorian. I think this is an area to be addressed in the very near future as SRWP gains wider acceptance.
As you stated, many SRT saddle/suspended systems are great for extended cammed ascent, however may be a bit too much for everyday SRWP in smaller crowns with more bias to lateral movement.
It seems like a simple, lightweight, unobtrusive chest harness is all you need (just a neck tether in some cases) for advancing your main bridge system, rather than something like a chest ascender.
I think a typical tree climbing saddle is adequate for use with a Uni, RW, HH, OAR, etc... In most cases, due to the bias of lateral motion over vertical motion, I simply employ the lanyard-over-the-shoulder method.
I just had a great rec climb yesterday with moss, Adam P, and a few of Adam's friends. We mostly climbed SRT. Adam has a great tether system for advancement.
I'd like to see a manufacturer truly target products that already exist towards folks using a traditional (non-SRT) style saddle that are transitioning into SRWP.