SE Wisconsin rec climbers

dmonn

I've been climbing a bit for about 3 years now. Still not great, but the trees I've had to climb haven't been great (dead ash mostly, and some leaning boxelders). I recently started climbing some nice oaks and basswood nearby. Great place to climb and it's really allowed my skills to progress. It's public space where the manager allows climbing. I'd love to have some company on my climbs. I'm retired so I can climb any time. Anybody around the Milwaukee area looking for a fun place to climb, speak up here.

Don

treeandland

I've been climbing a bit for about 3 years now. Still not great, but the trees I've had to climb haven't been great (dead ash mostly, and some leaning boxelders). I recently started climbing some nice oaks and basswood nearby. Great place to climb and it's really allowed my skills to progress. It's public space where the manager allows climbing. I'd love to have some company on my climbs. I'm retired so I can climb any time. Anybody around the Milwaukee area looking for a fun place to climb, speak up here.

Don
Go for it man. I met a guy in his late 60's this summer who said he's a rec. tree climber and he was loving it. Think through your climb carefully and use your head. The more hours you spend up there the better you'll get.

dmonn

I also do pruning and removals in addition to rec climbing, but only for my own trees and friends and relatives. I've had some professional private instruction and evaluation of what I'm doing, and the instructor's approval boosted my confidence. I love the challenge of planning my climb, rigging, etc., and then working through it. I've done about 300 removals by myself, and two with minimal help.