Rope runner pro

Thatonedude

Hey all,
Let me start this out by saying I’m new to the tree world and only have a year under me. Soo was climbing a oak the other day SRT and when I get to my TIP I take my knee ascender off and leave my foot on. And when I’m just moving around in the tree I leave my chest harness still attached to the RRP with a XSRE carabiner. Only while I’m moving around in the tree so I don’t have to tend my slack as much. And when I find it affecting me or pulling me I unhook it. So what I’m getting to is when I was horizontal with my TIP and going out on a limb walk, mind you through the limb walk I felt the RRP slipping. I lanyard around the branch and assessed the situation. Looked and seen I still had the XSRE still attached to the RRP and when I took off the XSRE it wasn’t slipping anymore. I’m thinking it did it because the attachment point on the RRP for for SRT harness pulls the RRP so loosen the bind it makes on the rope to hold it. Just wanting to put it out there since it’s a newer device. Not sure if I explained it correctly or not.

swingdude

De' Island Buzzer
What happened to the time when people who were new and/or not well versed with a certain type of tool they came with questions instead of claims of device failure?

This new trend grinds my gears worse than bad shifting.
Not only you. A rrpro is an advanced tool. Could you imagine OP's slipping on said limbwalk. Hooked in like that could have been a direct sail to the earth's crust.

Crimsonking

The funny thing is- if people actually read the manual when they bought the device, they would avoid most of the mistakes they make, and would be aware of the other risks inherent in operating it. But they’d still have to be honest with themselves and others about their competence.

Last edited:

Thatonedude

What happened to the time when people who were new and/or not well versed with a certain type of tool came with questions instead of claims of device failure?