Remote computer access

Tom Dunlap

Here from the beginning
Administrator
For the last few months I've been spending a lot of time on the road. There have been times when I wanted to have something that was at home on the desktop computer. May as well be on the moon...until I found out that there are remote access programs available. Sounds pretty cool. Does anyone have any experience using:

Symantec's pcAnywhere
Netopia's Timbuktu
LapLink's LapLink Gold
Expertcity's GoToMyPC

Or any other remote access program?

GoToMyPC sounds interesting because it doesn't need software on the remote end for access. Being in places with dial-up but high speed at the library would tip the scales to this program.

Any ideas or concerns?
I posted this same question on another forum and got this reply:

I'll claim to be an expert on this subject since I do this for a living (doesn't guarentee anything though).

What you need to understand is that to work from offsite you need TWO different things.

You need a way INTO the network.

You need a way to CONROL your PC.

Getting INTO you network
------------------------

Most, if not all networks are behind an router/firewall, so getting in requires something called a VPN (virtual private entwork) which simply put is a controlled and secure way into a closed network, whether your office or your home. Years ago you used a modem and dialed in, but I'm talking now in the internet days.

Controlling your PC
-------------------

Once your INSIDE The network you need to control the PC.
For years the defacto standard was PCanywhere, which still is a very good product, but in many ways it's obsolete. WindowsXP has a build in Remote Desktop which is the old Citrix and Terminal SErver technology.

Both together
--------------