Pain in hands after climbing

Mwelander

Hi, I started climbing a few months ago and since doing some more advanced moves out on limbs etc where I held the rope quite a bit with one hand for balance (double 12mm rope) I've had ache in the outside part of my hands (like down along the bone from the pinky finger and the one next to it. Think the pain is between those two bones).

I was wondering if you experienced climbers have a name for it, or know any tricks what to do about it. It feels like my hands (or the two smallest fingers) want to go inte the gripping position when they are at rest. Should I actively make them not bend? Stretch or exercise them in any certain way?

Or is it just some hereditary reumatism sneaking up on me in a most untimely manner?

misfit

That sounds like ulnar tunnel syndrome to me, but I am not a doctor, nor have I even played one on TV. The ulnar tunnel and the nerve that runs through it controls the pinkie and pinkie side of the ring finger. It gets inflamed when you either repetitively move your hand side to side or hold your hand to one side for a long time. So you need to be aware of your hand position while climbing and try to keep it in line with your forearm.

In my younger years, I played piano a lot every day and had ulnar tunnel all the time. Because of good hand position, I never had carpal tunnel syndrome. That's because I could keep my hand level with my forearm while playing, but could not possibly avoid bending side-to-side as my hands moved up and down the keyboard.

rope-a-dope

Maybe an over-gripping thing? Some muscles when put under new strains have a hard time relaxing again. I recommend getting a little bouncy ball and rolling it along the tensed up areas to try to get some to release. Your hands are now athletes. They will need good training habits to stay healthy! Warm up your grip and wrists before your climb and keep them flexible with ball release work and stretching for down time.