Notch Sentinel, Advice Needed

DumpyMcDoodleface

Hello Buzzards! I'm a long time listener, first time caller~

I'll save the long winded introduction and back-story for another time - this post will probably be long winded enough without it.

So briefly, I'm Dumpy, and welcome to my dumpster fire. I'm an engineer by trade, rec climber for fun, and hack-job "tree guy" when I want to scare my wife. Just kidding, put down your pitch forks - I do a little clean-up around the house, and that's about it. I'm less of a cowboy and more of a study the heck out of the subject before doing anything, then try to do everything one step at a time in as controlled an environment as possible (see engineer).

So that brings me to the matter at hand: I've purchased a Notch Sentinel harness to finally replace the rock harness I've been using. With that said, I think it probably needs to go back - but since this is my first harness, I wanted some advice: Is this operator error, and some adjustment would go a long way? Or does this harness just not fit me? Please see attached images:

I had seen several reviews where people complained that the leg loops were too big. I'd also read some reviews where people who were on the limit (size 1 ends at 36, size 2 starts at 36) had issues with it. I'm around a 36 - but this might just work for me - right? I purchased a size 1 because I wasn't sure if that size 36 corresponded to pants size or if you wear a 36 pants, this would fit on top of all that. Hint: it's closer to pants size. I also noted the reviews about the huge leg loops and was afraid that if I got a size 2, i'd be drowning in the rest (or I wouldn't be able to tighten the harness enough).