New guy from the PNW, mind if I share some videos?

27RMT0N

Hi everyone, I've been doing tree work in Western Washington for a few years and am new to this forum. I threw together a collection of some of the better footage I've gotten recently and figured I'd put it together in this compilation. As you can see from the video, I work in a rural area in what is mostly a doug fir forest. I learned tree work in the city where it was almost exclusively spur-less climbing and pruning for health, safety and aesthetics, but where I live these days it's mostly climbing and piecing out firs, felling firs, or various other hazard trees. I do miss the more peaceful and artistic work of pruning at times, but this stuff is pretty fun. Going forward I'm trying to get better at filming and will probably add to this thread going forward, but figured this video would be a good starting place.

Oh, and before anyone asks, the goofy 'tongue in groove' cut was just for a laugh to see if I could keep it on the stump, overall I think it's a mostly useless technique! Also, because what I put down is almost never turned into lumber I generally cut higher stumps just for ergonomics, then flush-cut them to ground level when I'm done.

Anyways, just thought I'd introduce myself. I see a lot of excellent tree guys here and look forward to learning from and being a part of the community.

evo

Looks like we are not far from each other. Perhaps your up on one of the rocky islands like orcas or Bellingham area? Either way good to digitally meet you

27RMT0N

Looks like we are not far from each other. Perhaps your up on one of the rocky islands like orcas or Bellingham area? Either way good to digitally meet you
Hello to you as well Evo, you are right on with the location, San Juan Islands. I don't work on the mainland and avoid it as much as possible ;)

Lovely...and welcome. There was a tall skinny fella. The one you used the silky. That looked trippy.