Moving in the canopy with near vertical limbs

dmonn

I'm still a newbie when it comes to moving around in the canopy. I'm looking for suggestions on how to move out on a near vertical limb that's not within reach of my climbing line, especially when where I want to go is near my TIP. I don't have a Captain Hook, and my mag throwbag is mostly useful where the limbs are more horizontal or there's a decent union to throw around.

If I'm climbing up and know where I want to get to, should I attach a lanyard as I pass the union with it and then keep myself attached to the limb as I climb? Any other good ways to do this?
high angle traverse.jpg

chiselbit

There’s several ways, here’s one. Sometimes you can put your lanyard around the limb you want to climb, loosen it until you are able to hold yourself up without your hands by pushing your feet straight into the limb. You can walk up a couple steps pushing against your lanyard and then take up slack on the climb line to capture your progress then with some practice you can flip your lanyard up as high as you can and repeat the process. When you are closer to your t.i.p. Sometimes you can spin around on your lanyard until the limb is between you and your tip and then use the opposing forces to your advantage. Loop runners in various lengths are handy too. I carry at least 3 all the time and find uses for them often.

colb

I'm still a newbie when it comes to moving around in the canopy. I'm looking for suggestions on how to move out on a near vertical limb that's not within reach of my climbing line, especially when where I want to go is near my TIP. I don't have a Captain Hook, and my mag throwbag is mostly useful where the limbs are more horizontal or there's a decent union to throw around.

If I'm climbing up and know where I want to get to, should I attach a lanyard as I pass the union with it and then keep myself attached to the limb as I climb? Any other good ways to do this?
View attachment 73381