Mini skid winch

handsome_feller

Hey Guys I'm new to the mini skid game. I love what these things can do but I feel that the usefulness could be doubled with a winch. Has anyone figured out a good system to add a winch to their machine? Hydraulic would be best but... I realize the implications of flipping the machine etc. but feel that responsible operation is the key to avoid these problems.

Jehinten

Just curious, what would you want to use the winch for? I'm new to the minis as well, so maybe you can give me some ideas on their usefulness.

Jackjcc

I feel like they would slide or tip too easily. It’s pretty hard to get the perfect combo of versatility and mobility (able to get through narrow gates). I think the best option would be an additional mount to go on instead of a grapple bucket or branch manager. It’s really easy to switch out attachments on minis usually and that would prevent over complicating the hydraulics by mounting the winch on the machine. When I’ve encountered the winching scenario I’ve always been of the put a line on it and redirect from a tree to get the piece where you can grapple it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

southsoundtree

A guy mounted a hydraulic capstan to the top, horizontal tube on his BMG.

I always thought it was a slick idea. He sold it to someone else for their BMG.

evo

Could get a 12v warn receiver hitch mount winch. I can think of a few solid applications. Last job I had we used a burly skidding winch mounted on a decaded one ton flatbed. Tons of application. To use it on a mini, you’d need to chain it to a stump, or fab a blade or some such so you just don’t drag the machine.

climbhightree

I put my warn 10,000 lbs winch on my mini quite often for pulling over trees, especially in a wooded area. Most times it does not slide, but if the ground is soft or the tree has a heavy back lean i will just strap the mini to another tree etc
20180615_093551.jpg