Maple or Oak?

LarryB

Could anyone tell me which of these two species in the most general sense most prominently displays the following two characteristics.

1. Resistant to disease and fungus

2. May grow in poor soil.

Tom Dunlap

Here from the beginning
Administrator
The question is way too broad to answer properly

The two species have examples with a wide range of characteristics.

Example...oak wilt is deadly to red oaks. Yet there are regions of the world that don’t have OW so it’s not a worry

What are you trying to find out?

Where do you live?

LarryB

I live in CT, but I'm actually a board game designer and I'm making a game which involves trees and I'm looking for a fairly common and recognizable tree that has both of those characteristics. I'm looking for this in the most general sense.
Thank you very much for the reply!

ATH

Broadly speaking...I think oaks have a reputation for representing "tough". That is a well earned reputation. In the native forest, maple are also very Hardy...but maybe not quite as much as oak. In the landscape environment, there are a lot of non-native maple that struggle. Of course there are a lot of native that don't do well in the built environment either. Not sure if that is helping...my vote is oak.

Tom Dunlap

Here from the beginning
Administrator
@LarryB

Very cool!

Accuracy is important.

My nickels worth says that oaks, especially those in the White oak group are the toughest going

In every region or biome there are trees that don’t tolerate change...water, soil temp, soil disturbances. When I worked in the Dallas and Austin areas I learned that Post Oaks sometimes die of there is even talk of changes. Bring a Bobcat around and they just die. But...Post Oaks in another area might not be so sensitive.

Without giving away the game you’ll probably get some good info. You can start a Conversation/DM and take more specific questions out of the public eye

The more criteria you can share the better answer you’ll get