Isc rigging rope wrench tips, tricks, and uses

Barc Buster

@Merle Nelson requested a thread be started on the use of this device. So here we go I'll kick things off.

I don't typically take pictures so I don't have a lot of in tree pics to illustrate how to use this device. I found it helpful to think of it kind of like a hybrid between rings and a block. Friction kind of like rigging rings but ability to put some lift on the load. The new isc version has the added benefit of being midline attachable.

I mainly use it like a retrievable ring sling during pruning but it can handle light negative rigging. I am by no means an expert with this device. I've only been using the older singing tree version for around a year, and I just got the newer isc version a few weeks ago.

You can attach this thing just like a block to about any sling you like. Here I have it on a 1/2 inch ultra sling.
20200529_142931.jpg
20200529_143006.jpg 20200529_143011.jpg

Rigging rope goes through the sheave like this
20200529_150147.jpg

Then through the wrench like this.
20200529_150253.jpg

It has nice illustrations on the side to show you how to set it up, which is a nice feature.

I used the rigging wrench to flop a small spruce top today to illustrate about the largest I like to rig with this thing. Definitely not my first choice for this but it worked well. 20200529_150425.jpg

All the standard practices of block use apply here. I positioned the rigging wrench off center to mitigate potential for it getting pinched after the flop. Sorry forgot to take a pic. Here is a pic of the top to show size.
20200529_150644.jpg

That's it for now. I'll try to add pics as I think to take them. In the mean time if you have one and love to use it post up some pictures and show how your using them. Pass on that knowledge to arborists not familiar with this excellent aerial friction device.

Attachments

Jonny