Is there ever a risk of hanging upside down

JMB6

Newbie here, asking all kinds of questions.

I am curious if there is ever a risk of losing balance and somehow to hang upside down?
If there is, how can it happen and how to recover?

Thanks.

chiselbit

I saw a video once of a climber who was stuck upside down for some reason. It was a long time ago but it seems like his saddle and his pants were down around his lower thighs and the Fire Dept rescued him

dmonn

I wound up stuck pretty badly once early on. I was coming down on spikes without being tied in with a rope (dumb ass move number one). It was drizzling and my wire core flip line slipped unexpectedly. Both spikes were jammed in. I was stuck with the spikes just barely below the lanyard and my legs bent double. I was by myself (dumb ass move number two), and scared to death that my lanyard would slip a little more and I'd go upside down with my back toward the stem. I couldn't get either spike loose. After what seemed like an eternity trying to figure out what to do, I gave it every bit of strength I had to push with my legs and pull with my hands on the lanyard to get vertical again. That was the closest I've come to a serious accident doing tree work, and that was pretty close.

JMB6

Thanks. I am just starting and what worries me is that so many things can go wrong that I cannot even imagine yet, because I just don’t have experience. Now I will remember about not keeping the lanyard too low.

treegongfu

Deliberately hang upside down and then right yourself. You can hook your legs around the rope to assist you. Just watch you don't disengage your device.

I occasionally hang upside down on purpose to stretch or align my spine. No big deal.

dmonn