hangin by a single thread!

Im new to climbing since summer 2019, and even more of a beginner doing SRT. I just cant seem to kick the darn heebie Geebies. Im always up there wishing I was in my spikes, and missing the mechanical advantage of DRT,. not sure if its because I didnt start with SRT, or due that I only using a foot ascender on its own.. Im sure its a compounded mental thing, crossed with a never ending fickle relationship with hitchcords and different ways to tie em, they got a sense of humor! Not sure if its because I just need someone there who knows better than I do to hold me hand. Its probably all of these things. I need to come hang around a climbing comp and do some rec climbs with some people. I know this.. but in the mean time anyone have any similar qualms or tips or polite motivating pats on the helmet! always a pleasure reading these arb posts.

evo

Been here a while
Im new to climbing since summer 2019, and even more of a beginner doing SRT. I just cant seem to kick the darn heebie Geebies. Im always up there wishing I was in my spikes, and missing the mechanical advantage of DRT,. not sure if its because I didnt start with SRT, or due that I only using a foot ascender on its own.. Im sure its a compounded mental thing, crossed with a never ending fickle relationship with hitchcords and different ways to tie em, they got a sense of humor! Not sure if its because I just need someone there who knows better than I do to hold me hand. Its probably all of these things. I need to come hang around a climbing comp and do some rec climbs with some people. I know this.. but in the mean time anyone have any similar qualms or tips or polite motivating pats on the helmet! always a pleasure reading these arb posts.
See I’m pretty solid on rope, and feel the opposite but the same as you on spikes...

Chris Schultz

Participating member