HAAS knee ascender patent

colb

Hi folks, attempting to redirect this away from the sherrilltree and treestuff join forces thread. Let's discuss, hopefully with respect for all parties involved. Are the HAAS and SAKA the same or different in terms of this patent? I'm assum8ng that the patent linked to below is the relevant one, but please note that three other search results came back, with two being about a year older.

https://www.google.com/patents/US20...ved=0ahUKEwj9q-KgmvHNAhVKRiYKHSVIAWAQ6AEIKTAC

Leroy

I thought everyone knew... It was ME who invented the knee ascender.

It was a cold morning in the foothills of the Swiss Alps, 1902. Carl Prussic and I were drinking brandy discussing the nature of infinity.....

....Ah who really cares anyways.

Boomslang

I replied in the other thread before I realized there was a separate discussion so I'll copy it here:

I'm no patent lawyer, but I feel I could submit a very strong case that the SAKA features TWO fixed ends of a length of elastic. Whereas Michael's patent clearly states his design is of one fixed end and one free end.

Steve Connally

I feel they are very different. I just gutted my bungee and replaced it with th saka. Can't to that with he haas. They are both great both have been bought legally. I like a choice.

treebilly

I don't think Michael claims or has claimed to invent the knee ascender. In one of his HAAS videos he even mentions that it was a variation of Beranek's rope walking system. the intellectual property is the bungee through a hallow tube for its use in the knee ascender application. It's something simple but no one else had patented the idea so therefore it's his.

colb