Good source for pruning education?

So I’m new to this tree climbing and pruning for healthy trees. I know a little and know there is a whole lot I don’t know. Anyone suggest books or YouTube channels that specify just on pruning.

I know a few of the big YouTube channels that are all about chainsaws and tree cutting have some tidbits here and there about tree health, but not finding very many dedicated channels on the subject.

thanks for any help.

TreeVB

I will also chime in with Ed Gilman. His book "The illustrated guide to pruning" is priceless. My video edits are a .5 out of ten but I have a few on my youtube that might show a thing or two (just ignore the removal vids.). Most of what I do is strictly structural pruning in the same way Gilman is explaining in his teachings. Channel is "Kevin Van Brunt" if interested. Lots of great info on here as well with some pretty intelligent (some ignorant) Arborists. Also good on you for being interested in pruning (not trimming) and not just another tree wrecker!

colb

Ed Gilman is on the ANSI A300 panel. You should order both the ANSI A300 part 1 pruning, and the accompanying Best Management Practices Booklet.

Gilman is great for tree structure, but does not say much about aesthetic. Niwaki by Jake Hobson is my favorite source for aesthetic pruning.