Good Deals on Rope

Njdelaney

I'm pretty new to climbing and this forum (although I've been on Arboristsite for a long time) but I recently found an Ebay seller that has good deals on rope and thought some of you may be interested. The seller is "castobargains" and they're based in Georgia. They sell odd lengths of all different kinds of rope including top of the line climbing and rigging rope. They rarely name the manufacturer but they do list the full specs and a quick glance in a catalog will tell you what is what based on color patterns. I just got a new 90' chunk of Tachyon for $56 shipped. Check 'em out if you want, their service has been great so far.

Noah

dsptech

I've seen his listings and just bought some T-Rex from him.
Most of the ropes he sells are look to be Chinese imports.
I'd be careful what you buy from him.
Could you link the listing that you bought the Tachyon from?

dsptech

Definitely looks the part though it's listed as 11.1mm instead of 11.5mm.
Going to have to have a closer look at his other ropes and shoot him an email.
If these are legit then you spotted a really nice deal. (y)

Njdelaney

That may be an issue of conversion tables. If you use the Google to convert 7/16" to metric it actually shows both 11.1mm and 11.5mm. I also got a 40' piece of what looks to be New England KMIII 1/2" in safety green/blue fleck for $29 shipped. It sells for close to $1.50/ft normally so again a decent deal. Got that for bridge material and a short Captain Hook line.

dsptech

Just sent him an email.
Hope he responds and can say.
The T-Rex I bought at least was named in the listing.
Good detective work on you part and thanks for posting that info.
And welcome to the forums. :D

Njdelaney

Thanks! Here's another listing for what looks to be Teufelberger Xstatic. I just bought a new 200' piece for $188 from a friend so I know what it costs and looks like. This is too short for most uses, just posting as an example of what they have.

JeffGu