Glued splices

Tom Dunlap

Here from the beginning
Administrator
THere's a show on Modern Marvels about adhesives. Very interesting to see the history of various adhesives.

This got me thinking. When will we see glued splices instead of sewn? Adhesives are already used for other fabric applications.

Fibers/ropes and fabrics/webbing aren't significantly different materials from other industrial materials.

Right now it might be that there are sewing machines made and in place as well as industry acceptance of sewn splices.

kludge

Major issue with adhesives is lack of inspectability. If threads are broken and a splice is compromised, it's much easier to *see* than a compromised adhesive.

flushcut

I have a feeling that adhesives wouldn't work because they are a rigid and not stretchy like the rope them selves or like a sewn splice. But I am no engineer.

ghostice

I posted this in a different thread on sewn splices etc. Richard had some interesting comments in this thread about his experience with rope failures.
https:// www.treebuzz.com/forum/threads/breaking-splices-sewn-eyes-and-other-strange-things.39444/page-2#post-645199
It seems a matter of finding the right glue for the rope sheaths and then what if there were a glue saturated thread that could be sewn and then the glue activated using heat or uv or . . . ?? I am thinking of some of the dental amalgams which are uv activated - not enough uv to cause tissue damage but it does set the material up. Rampant COVID speculation. Where's a materials engineer when you need them?

Last edited:

flushcut

Well actually with the UV activated dental composites the UV light is very strong and will damage oral tissues, as well as your eyes. There are some lower end UV activated composites but are not nearly the same product.

Tom Dunlap

Here from the beginning
Administrator
There's no doubt in my mid that a glued splice is within reach.

3M is just over there...on the east side of St Paul after all.