Gear for kids/beginners?

climbatreeaweek

Hi,
I'm a graduate student in industrial design doing research for a design project that might involve making tree climbing gear for kids.

My idea right now is to help with first limb ascent and descent because I see that as the scariest/hardest part of climbing. Is this true?
A simple (and therefore affordable) rope/webbing setup rather than provide a full climbing system.

I am wondering from an arborist perspective what would make sense and be safe.

My prototype right now is just a line hitched to a carabiner to quickly throw over the lowest limb and secure back to itself.

Also interested in solutions that don't harm the tree bark/etc.

Most of the gear I've seen is more about the requirements of the job (rigging etc.) than just getting in the tree, although the rope launchers are very cool!

20210112_111228.jpg

Jehinten

As far as rope setup, I think the possibility of sending a kid up solo (with adult supervision from the ground) is a good time to use a lowerable basal anchor if doing SRS/SRT. That said I think most kids starting out do better on moving rope because of the mechanical advantage.

I certainly wouldn't choke a limb with that carabiner. What rope is that, that your using?

Njdelaney

X2 on the MRS for kids. And unless the kid is huge you can control/stop their descent as well as assisting their ascent with the tail of the rope. You can make it even safer by being in the tree and having the tail of their rope looped over a small branch if they're heavy for descent. That creates enough friction to lower even a big kid slowly and safely, plus if you're in the tree and they panic you can help them with lowering up close and personal. I do this with my 4-year old and even though he has no problem lowering himself with a hitch, he does have a lead foot and always tries to bomb out of the tree as fast as he can, so having control of the tail is a must.

climbatreeaweek