Elbow pain

Mwelander

Hi, I'm just learning the basics of treeclimbing. Two weeks ago I attended a 2 day SRT training (both chest/hand ascender and prussik-only techniques) and since then I've had pain on and off in my right elbow.

I'm in pretty good average shape, I crossfit 3-5 days a week. Since that training though I haven't been able to do pullups, I can do one and then I have pain in that elbow.

So I'm pretty sure I put my right arm under too much load during those two days, and I figured some of you guys probably recognize the problem, I was hoping to find some advice here on healing and rehab.

I have another training (traditional methods /dynamic climbing line) lined up in about 4 weeks and I would hate to have to skip or cancel that.

RBJtree

The elbow is a complex joint. Too complex for me to guess exactly what's wrong with it over the internet or suggest a rehab routine. If a movement hurts, don't do it. Let it heal fully before you beat on it again. Start slow on any new activity working up over a few weeks to full force. Tree climbing burns a lot of calories and might make you stronger, but it's not like other types of exercise. It will work muscles that don't get worked other ways. It can conflict with other types of exercise.

rico

Hi, I'm just learning the basics of treeclimbing. Two weeks ago I attended a 2 day SRT training (both chest/hand ascender and prussik-only techniques) and since then I've had pain on and off in my right elbow.

I'm in pretty good average shape, I crossfit 3-5 days a week. Since that training though I haven't been able to do pullups, I can do one and then I have pain in that elbow.

So I'm pretty sure I put my right arm under too much load during those two days, and I figured some of you guys probably recognize the problem, I was hoping to find some advice here on healing and rehab.