Donaghys Cougar Splice

Anybody tried splicing this rope?? I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to splicing but I have a pretty firm grasp of double braid at this point.

However, Donaghy's Cougar has me at my wits end. I have a new 150' length that I want to put a tight eye into but I can't seem to get the final bury. It's driving me absolutely crazy and I've torn some good chunks of skin off my hands. I've given up twice and restarted another splice, each one with the same result...the braid seems VERY tight, but it almost seems like there's not enough slack to even achieve the final bury. Maybe my throat is too long??

I used a standard Double Braid, with a 5-5-5-5-5-5-5-5 taper on the cover. I usually only pull out 6 pairs on a 24 strand but after having so much trouble with the first splice I decided to pull out an extra 2 to try and give some leeway.

Any suggestions or comments will help. Thanks!!

TreeLogic

Curious to see the responses on this too. I have a new 150' hank that I might put an eye in. Would've thought it was just standard double braid as well.