Company Policy on damages cost, who's responsibility?

I have been working for 6 months as a climber and recently promoted to crew leader for a well established diversified company, that in the past has had some employees who were causing negligent damages. The company announced a verbal policy (over a year ago while those negligent employes were still there) to curb the behavior that held 50% of the cost of damages incurred to the company on the employees who were on the job or operation the equipment damaged, retrievable directly from company pay checks at managements discretion. After our safety meeting this week management announced the sign in sheet was a written document of this policy and everyone must sign it. I contested not to sign. They showed numerical evidence how this policy drastically changed the amount of damages that were being caused. I have an issue with signing the document because of the unforeseen potential for it to be used at the discretion of the business and with no clause for the use of their insurances... 'Negligence' would be decided by administration, not those who were there on the job site or present when damages accrued... Shouldn't I just carry my own insurance then? the list of reasons not to sign it gets longer as this conversation builds amongst my ex-coworkers, but they all felt pressured to sign the document. Management pleaded with me to "trust them to not screw me", but to me it's not about trust it's business and a legal agreement making me responsible for others actions on the job site despite my direct oversight of them... The last 6 months since I started with this company they touted how great the crews of guys were they had now, how limited damages were happening and now at an expected minimal level. Nothing happened to have this policy needed to be re-surfaced, and in writing. After a couple of discussions over 2 days I was given an ultimatum to sign it or not work for the company. Unfortunatly I am now not employed.