Beginner’s Help

PJPJ

Hello All,

I am having trouble climbing pines / spruce / etc. with spikes and feeling confident doing it. I was climbing a pine on lanyard / spurs the other day and did not feel comfortable at all. Do you guys usually get a TIP going when performing pine removals? What is the best way to go about this? I tried the double wrap on my lanyard but advancing / descending was difficult this way. Looking for suggestions / tips. Thanks a lot!

NailerB

I am no expert by any means but I'll take a shot. The above video is very good, watch it. If you are worried about gaffing out and not having a tip you could set your climbing rope around the tree with a running bowline then tie into the bridge with your climbing device. Basically your making a moving tie in point and taking it up the tree as you go. It will be easier to advance than a double wrap of your lanyard around the trunk. You also solve the problem of maintaining a double tie in if you encounter any branch that needs sawed off on your way up. if you gaff out you may drop little but that loop is going to pull down on the trunk and stop ya. Good Luck!

evo

I hate spikes, and even more so on diameters smaller than my hips. The smaller the diameter the more I “weather vane” and less stable I feel.
Sometimes I will set a line from the ground, srt base tied to a neighboring tree. Problem is at some point you’re going to need to reconfigure the rope tie in, and you will likely wind up just advancing a choked tie in, friction saver, or using your climb line like a second flip

PJPJ

I am really liking the idea of NailerB and the second flip line tied in to the bridge in the Reg Coates video. I think I will try both and see how they feel. If I were able I would have a high TIP, three lanyards, choker and trampoline beneath me. I just do not like climbing on spikes but I am sure with more practice things will become second nature. Thanks again!

NailerB