Am I Paid Fairly as Estimator? New here!

YellowLeaf

I fell into this job and have zero close contacts (outside of my coworkers) in the tree care industry, so I’m not sure who to ask for an honest opinion.

I started almost three years ago in the office, but began estimating six months later out of necessity and my own interest. 2.5 years later, the business has gone from grossing $400k before I stepped into sales to now surely hitting $1 million this year. We do not pay to advertise.

I’m paid hourly and am the only estimator on staff. No commission or benefits have been offered. I majored first in my university class in sales and marketing. I love arboriculture and will sit for the exam as soon a I hit my three years of experience.

Thoughts or opinions on what most sales arborists make before or after earning ISA credentials? THANK YOU!

Jzack605

No benefits as in no healthcare?

and you were a part of adding 600k to their yearly gross?

time to sit down and have a serious convo. There’s some good paying positions as sales reps at companies that offer benefits and other incentives (like commission). I know my sales rep can easily make 6 figures a year.

ATH

Did they add more staff going from 4k to 1MM?

No commission or benefits bare necessary if they pay you a good hourly wage, right?

With "no advertising" you should have a relatively easy job. With most no advertising companies the clients calling got a good referral and you just need to give a reasonable price and you've got the job...right?...or are you doing cold calls?

Is your pay in line with other mid level management in the company?

YellowLeaf

No benefits as in no healthcare?

and you were a part of adding 600k to their yearly gross?

time to sit down and have a serious convo. There’s some good paying positions as sales reps at companies that offer benefits and other incentives (like commission). I know my sales rep can easily make 6 figures a year.