Akimbo, Bulldog or Rope Runner

Windwalker

I've been climbing for three years now on a HH2. Climb almost 100% SRT. Almost bought a RR a year or so ago, but seemed kinda tricky to attach midline with small parts that could be dropped. Then I heard buzz that a new and improved version was coming out. Well its still not here. I'm tired of waiting.

This is my first post so forgive me for not reading through the 100's of posts on the Bulldog and Akimbo. I did read through the last couple of pages, kinda daunting trying to get anywhere.

I was climbing on Tachyon and now am using the Notch Dragon. The Tachyon works better in the HH2, but I like the lower stretch of the Dragon. Wanting to get a new mechanical device, but not wanting to get a new rope.

So, get an current version RR, Akimbo or Bulldog? If Bulldog, which one?

What's the process of sourcing the Akimbo or Bulldog?

Thanks for any help.

Mike

Z'sTrees

Not having used an akimbo here's my take on the runner and the bone.
The runner is amazingly smooth tending slack and descending. It seems to run really well on a variety of ropes but will flatten certain ones out. It's not a tool that is particularly easy to take off a rope aloft but it can be done without dropping anything.

The bone is more compact, goes on and off the rope super quick and easy without ever coming off your bridge and feels a bit more solid and durable. It needs a rope with a smooth jacket to really shine. My fuzzed up yale 11.7 was never all that smooth in it, a new hank was better, but the kmiii max is amazing in it. I'm using the adjustable model fwiw.
I wish I hadn't sold my hh2, it's the perfect tool to complement a mechanical for spar work or rain days.

Merle Nelson

Akimbo is not available for production sale yet. I have one that someone was letting go of and love it. I have Bulldog Bones and love them. Both great for midline attachment.