10mm lanyard users

Viking

Been a big fan of 10mm lanyard cordgage. I have used beeline, but ocean has been my fav for a while. Only thing is im using it through a cinch ( and it grabs just fine!) and want to go back to a micro pulley and prussic . What cordage have you tried? Would 8mm suffice on 10mm rope? I dont have my gear on me so I cant experiment right now. Experience or suggestions will be rewarded with a Flavor Flav YEAHHHHHH BOYYYYYYYYYYYYY!

cambmx

I have an 8mm VT with a 10mm rope, but it took an extra wrap to make it grab. I love how it feels and grabs, way better than 1/2 in I had before.

opposablethumb

I use 7/16" KMIII on my lanyard, so I'm not technically in this club...

BUT, I copied Tom D.'s idea for using 5 mm New England Tech Cord, which is rated at 5K tensile strength. I'm sure it would work fine on 10mm rope.

I've got it tied in a Distel, 5 wraps, with the eye of an ISC swivel-biner as the hitch tender.

See this thread for pictures and explanations of the setup I'm talking about. I've been using it for 6 months or so, and it is a sweet, simple, cheap, and lightweight rig. Only bummer is that Tech cord's core is pure technora, I believe, and you can't visually inspect it to see how much it's self-abraiding, so I just change mine out frequently, all for a price of less than $5 a shot.

Babberney

the tech cord also can be pretty grabby and hard to move once it sets. Usually not a prob with lanyard but I have a very long lanyard that sometimes gets used as a secondary tie-in (not just thrown over a nearby limb but moved to my center 'D' and set in its own TIP to complete a section where my primary rope is too flat or otherwise not optimal, but I don't want to lose my primary TIP. It's a bit of a pain to use in this application, but I still like it overall for how light and compact it is.

moss

[ QUOTE ]
I use 10mm HTP with a michoacon tied with HRC. It works very well.

[/ QUOTE ]