YXGood Climbing Harness $60: is this crap?

Bob Bob

If you don't let him use it you better develop a clear written policy of what brands and minimum gear rating standards you will allow a student to bring/supply/use. Just because you haven't heard of the brand doesn't mean it's dangerous or junk. A good question would be to ask does the harness have any certification labels or is the manufacturer red flagged by any safety organizations. Reviewing the product data sheet/instructions could help with this. I'm not a certification expert but un-certified equipment isn't necessarily dangerous it just maybe untested by or not have an expensive piece of paper proving it's fitness for duty. A homemade webbing/rope saddle wouldn't carry any certification but could easily keep you up and alive while swimming in a gravity sea.

JeffGu

They make tons of other harnesses for zip line and rock climbing. Some of them have CE and EN numbers, some don't. The Chinese are actually pretty good at making this stuff out of the same materials a lot of big name companies do, so unless you require specific certification, I'm not sure why you would want to ban them. The reviews of their products are always good... of course, the price almost guarantees that most people will like them.

cerviarborist

The amazon page comments show it being delivered in a bag intended for an entirely different fall-arrest system. Other Amazon comments reflect that the rings aren't marked or rated. Further questions posted to the seller (who also appears to be the manufacturer) indicate that YXGOOD doesn't want anybody over 220 lb. climbing in their saddle.