X-ring, ring and ring sling info

Discussion in 'Rigging and Roping' started by Raven27, Feb 17, 2017.

1. Raven27

Raven27 Active Member

I've seen a huge up Rick in the use of the ring sling usage fur rigging, I'm assuming not negative rigging. I have never used them but they appear to be super useful and fast to set up
    I'm thinking of buying this for a first one

http://www.treestuff.com/store/catalog.asp?category_id=455&item=9012
    Mybthoughtvwas tp be able to use it both in crotches, and what I'm wondering, can I girth hitch it to a stem /branch in horizontal or vertical application and use it that way too? And if so, what's my weight rating reduction? I'm not looking to load the crap out of it, but decent sized limbs and chunks as I work down.
    Again, I have no experience with these. If this one won't work other than in a crotch, what 2 or 3 ring product will? Thanks again. Love this place.

Dave Rohach likes this.
  2. Dave Rohach

Dave Rohach Well-Known Member

The weight and design are all factors, as are the XRing sizes and the size of the rigging ropes. If you look at the different sizes and designs at any of the Arb Distribution Co's. Such as TreeStuff.com, SherillTree.com, Wesspur.com, to get an idea of what size spar, limb, & application for the appropriate style you need. If this happens to make sense to you. I personally make my own, by calculating the capability of the rope and the X Ring, this determines what I need to order or dig out of my splicing equipment, which is quite extensive. I'm now getting ready to assemble a negative rigging block and sling, TreeStuff actually overnighted the gear I needed, which is quite awesome off them! Needless to say that's a different thread!

Stihlmadd, 96coal449 and arborcareman like this.
  3. Dave Rohach

P.S. the catalog item you posted can be assembled by an experienced splicer for 1/2 the price, depending on size and what you have in your surplus bins.

4. Simpleiowaguy