TreeBuzz Forum – Problem with Text on Tabs

Discussion in 'Support & Announcements' started by GregManning, Feb 10, 2015.

  1. GregManning

    GregManning Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,860
    Location:
    Chardon, OH
    During the last couple days, the text that the software inserts into the Forum Tabs disappears.
    The colored tabs are present; just no text in them.
    The problem is inconsistent. I have rebooted my laptop. I’m using Google Chrome.

    If I open a post, at the very bottom there should be 3 tabs.
    The “Post Reply” tab is there, but no text. None of the 3 have text.

    At the top of the New Posts page, there are 5 tabs.
    The last tab should have text “New Posts”; sometimes it does not. None of the 5.

    I have tried to copy/paste into a Word Doc to show to Claudio. No success.

    Anyone else notice this ?
     
  2. gmcttr

    gmcttr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    391
    I frequently (many times a day) use the 'mark forums read', 'new posts', 'post reply' and 'upload a file' tabs and have not seen the problem you describe on either my laptop or desktop computers...both running Chrome.
     
  3. surveyor

    surveyor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Location:
    NC
    I have seen what you describe when private messaging. Am using Chrome also.
     
  4. GregManning

    GregManning Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,860
    Location:
    Chardon, OH
    Did yours just start recently ?
     
  5. surveyor

    surveyor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Location:
    NC
    Yes, yesterday all the text boxes went blank as you described. This morning all is well again.
     
  6. GregManning

    GregManning Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,860
    Location:
    Chardon, OH
    It comes and goes. Even if I stay logged on, & just move around on the site.
    Maybe our IT Guru Claudio can help ?
     
  7. Todo10

    Todo10 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Hi Greg

    Could you please post a screenshot?

    Just press the PrntScr key to take a screenshot, click on the quick editor and paste it.
     
  8. GregManning

    GregManning Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,860
    Location:
    Chardon, OH
    Those instructions do no work for me
     
  9. GregManning

    GregManning Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,860
    Location:
    Chardon, OH
    The Prt Sc function does nothing. Even when using Fn+PrtSc. ???
    I think my PrtSc button is not working ?
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2015
  10. Todo10

    Todo10 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Taking a Full Screen Screenshot
    1. [​IMG]
      1
      Press the "Print Screen" (⎙ PrtScr) key on your keyboard. This will capture an image of your entire screen and copy it to the clipboard. The dimensions of the image will be the same as your desktop resolution.
      • The ⎙ PrtScr button may be labeled "PrtScn", "Prnt Scrn", "Print Scr", or something similar. On most keyboards, the button is usually found betweenF12 and Scroll ⇩. On laptop keyboards, you may have to press the Fn or "Function" key to access "Print Screen". [1]
      • You will not receive any confirmation that the screenshot has been taken.

    Can somebody send me a screenshot of each of the problems?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. GregManning

    GregManning Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,860
    Location:
    Chardon, OH
    OK, got it.
    I sent you (Claudio) an e-mail with the problem tabs.
     
  12. gmcttr

    gmcttr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    391
    It doesn't completely describe your description, but if you are not logged in, several of the tabs are not available.
     
  13. Todo10

    Todo10 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Hi

    Could you please check if the issue still? Be sure to clean your web browser cache and delete all cookies before :)
     
  14. GregManning

    GregManning Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,860
    Location:
    Chardon, OH
    I was logged on, the tabs are there, just no text ................................... Sometimes.
     
  15. GregManning

    GregManning Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,860
    Location:
    Chardon, OH
    I deleted cookies & cache, then rebooted.
    I'll monitor.
     
  16. GregManning

    GregManning Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,860
    Location:
    Chardon, OH
    Tabs & text are back to normal for the last 24 hrs, after I cleaned the cookies & cache.

    Claudio, briefly, what did you do on your end ? i.e. what was the problem ?

    Ciao for Now !
     
  17. Todo10

    Todo10 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    great!

    the style had some issues that were causing this :)
     
  18. GregManning

    GregManning Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,860
    Location:
    Chardon, OH
    More text problems ......................
    I was in the Forum & all the tabs & text were fine.
    I then went to the Home Page.
    When I came back to the Forum, ALL of the forum text was gone ! Everything.
    The tabs, shaded block, etc were present; but NO text.
    No Forum Categories, No Post Titles, No Tab Text, etc.
    I tried ReFresh a couple times, I went back & forth to Home, etc. Nothing.
    Finally I rebooted.
    The Forum came back up.

    I don't recall if the Ads were present.
     
  19. Todo10

    Todo10 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Humm that's really..REALLY strange. Can anybody else reproduce this?

    Greg, please send me your web browser version number and operating system version. I'll contact XenForo developers after then.

    Thank you!
     
  20. Mark Chisholm

    Mark Chisholm Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Messages:
    8,823
    Location:
    Home of the New Jersey Devils
    Thanks for keeping on this Claudio!
     

Share This Page