Tree Buzz forum performance

samsquatch

Yo team.
I have been noticing this issue for some time, but the recent www.treebuzz.com website outage the other day has prompted me to bring this up now.
Is anyone else experiencing slow site performance when loading images in the forum? There is a nice popup/modal that shows us a full res photo when we click on it, but that black screen spins for 8-10, sometimes 20 seconds before it loads the photo. Does anyone else have this issue? See attached image for example of load times. (well, you'll likely wait for it to load first!)

I am a Web Infrastructure Engineer in my day job, and operating web servers and databases is something that I feed my family doing. I'd like to bring this to @Mark Chisholm and @Tom Dunlap attention, in case we want to approach the website hosting company about the performance issues.
As a for example, I would suggest that today's hosting company (Intersessions in NJ) look into the following:
  • Hosting site assets (or the entire site, if possible) on a cloud provider that is able to offer a Content Delivery Network.
This would result in faster page load times (via CDN caching) and infrastructure redundancy for site uptime & reliability.

If the hosting company is no help, I have the skillset to bring the site onto a modern cloud hosting system with CDN, and I work everyday with designers and programmers that could help overhaul the site aesthetically and programmatically, if we feel something should be tweaked with that as well.

As for the forum software (XenForo?), I have no reservations about it, other than aesthetically it could use a facelift. What are others' thoughts with the forum in general?

Attachments

samsquatch

no image upload issues from my side, they are uploaded almost immediately
Agreed, uploads are no issues here either. I'm talking about the image popup (the image "slider" that pops up when clicking on someone else's photo they posted).

Tom Dunlap

Here from the beginning