Thoughts on Stihl (or other!) "2-in-1" sharpener / rake-grinder units?

eyehearttrees

I've never used anything besides regular files for teeth & rakes but after watching a youtube where Reg Coates gives glowing endorsement for the Stihl model (as does Steve of Steve's Small Engine Saloon), was checking price and it seems there's generic units as well - would love to hear thoughts on the 2-in-1 in general, and especially if anyone's got experience with / heard about the non-stihl / unbranded units (half the price, max, on amazon & ebay as the Stihl unit...stihl makes good stuff for sure but they are so damn expensive, I know you get what you pay for in many cases but stihl is nicer than I need in most cases!!)

Scratch

I'm not a pro, but I cut about 15 cords a year for firewood so take this for what it's worth...
I use to pull my chain and resharpen with a dedicated electric shrapener. It was nice and I just kept a bunch of chains ready to go. Last year I decided to try one of those 2 in 1's so I got the Pferd. I always seemed to forget to sharpen the dull chains at home so I like this one as it forces me to do it right then. It takes me about 2 minutes to sharpen my 20" bar with one.

I can't see a difference between the Pferd and the Stihl besides the color.

I flip the bar each time I sharpen so it does take longer than swapping chains like I used to but since I got the Pferd, I haven't used my electric sharpener. It seems I can get them as sharp as I could with the grinder.

Curious to hear the pro's thoughts on them...

Last edited:

TreeCo

The 'two in ones' are not progressive depth gage filers. They are fixed depth gage filers.

As cutting teeth get shorter the depth gage setting needs to be increased to maintain optimum cutting.

The two in ones also don't work on skip and half skip chains.

I have three sizes of the original Pferds.
They work OK.

Last edited:

evo