Steel toe boots okay or a no no?

PUClimber

I am new to this utility stuff and enjoy the logging style boots and have seen many with steel toes and was wondering how big of a deal this was. I know metal is a conductor and all that but in a set of spurs that are already some kind of metal does it really matter or is this something that is better off being avoided as steel toe is concerned?

jcarufel

I have had people at work tell me that you aren't supposed to wear them because of the conducting factor but those same people wear boots with steel shanks. Kinda goes against what they are saying.

Steel toes are A-OK in my book just don't drop a big old log on your toes, they would turn into a bear trap!

UpYourTree

As long as they have the green triangle and orange omega symbol they are fine, Omega denotes electrical shock resistance.

Both my pairs are steel toe with omega.

CreTree

I have a pair of Redwing climbers that I have been climbing with for a long time. Cold in the winter if you're not in a tree! I have a friend in the local rescue that suggested composite toe boots( who would of thunk it?) to date I haven't found any but a good idea I suppose. I am curious myself. I hate cold toes!!

BostonBull

[ QUOTE ]
I have a pair of Redwing climbers that I have been climbing with for a long time. Cold in the winter if you're not in a tree! I have a friend in the local rescue that suggested composite toe boots( who would of thunk it?) to date I haven't found any but a good idea I suppose. I am curious myself. I hate cold toes!!

[/ QUOTE ]

Hoffmans Boots makes a few pairs with composite and steel toe that are ANSI approved. Check them out in the EH approved boot section.

http://www.hoffmanboots.com/Category.aspx?CategoryID=35

Tom Dunlap

Here from the beginning
Are you looking for crush protection or cut protection?

When 'tests' are conformed to prove a point they aren't quite as valid as ones that are conformed to real situations.