SRT rope wrench rope choice and prusik type?

peder-d

Hi.

I have been climbing for 15 years and done competition climbing national as well as international.
Anyway I am new to SRT and is really having a hard time finding some useful information about a few very important SRT subjects. Hope you guys can help me :)

1. Choice of rope? Is it ok to work climb SRT on a full static line ? Or is it only for access as it is when you climb ddrt?

2. I have tried to climb with a rope wrench and a 4 wraps/3 braids vt.
The vt seems a bit unreliable and a bit too long? It looks like some people climb with another variation of the vt, a Knut or a different prusik.

Hope you srt folks can help me ? :)

Have a great Christmas!

tomthetreeman

I use a rope wrench with a Michoacan with 4 wraps (8mm OP or HRC) on Tachyon or Safari. Both work pretty well, but my favorite is Safari on the anchor end with tachyon on the working end (when applicable). Hope this helps!

Tom

JeffGu

I use a Distel hitch with the Rope Wrench on any reasonably low stretch rope (KM Max, Yale 11.7, All Gear 11.5). The Distel is short, compact and reliable with either 9mm or 10mm cord in a 28" length. I've found that it is more tolerant to different rope/cord combinations than any other hitch I've tried.

Huskyman

Been climbing on a Hitch Climber/RW and a VT for years. Haven't had any issues with that combo as long as it's tied and set correctly. But I guess it's a personal choice. Distel is indeed a bit shorter than the VT if that's any concern...

paul phalloides

I use safari and a 5/16th beeline with a 5/2 xt and wrench. I use the same xt on ddrt too but with xtc rope and oceans split tail
I agree the xt is way more reliable than the vt.

ARLO