Spray Rig for soil drenches?

John_KAYS

To explain where I am coming from before I ask my questions: I am an ISA CA, but I have next to no experience with pesticides. Our company is a small, family run and operated business in Berks County, PA...doing mostly pruning, crown restoration/corrective pruning, tree removal, stump grinding, cable bracing, and all that sort of thing. I am looking into getting a Pesticide Applicator Certification and License and am interested in starting small.

Now for my questions - understanding that I have very little knowledge in this field - I am looking into what method and what costs I am likely to see going into this new area. Soil drenches seem to be a natural beginning step rather than taking on too many forms of application. I think i'll stay away from foliar spraying, but I am wondering what people have to say about the most logical entry into pesticide application. Do I go for an injection kit which I have heard have less selection for compatible pesticides? Do I go for soil drenches and mix in buckets? Do I get a spray rig and premix to do soil drenches allowing for a streamline operation? Am I sounding like I have no clue what I am doing? Can you even do soil drenches with a spray rig?

What my business partner would like to do, for example, is have a rig on a truck and line up a bunch of hemlock woolly adelgid jobs, mix a tank for the entire lineup and go out without having much fuss doing soil drenches at each stop.

Are there any soil drenches that are successful at treating EAB? Would I really need to do injections with tree-age for that? I have seen a bunch of other products advertised as being able to treat EAB, but with more applications, or not as successful.