Saved from a stupid mistake by a backup prussic

I am an amateur climber and have been rescuing cats for about 4.5 years. I do SRT ascent with the Bulldog Bone, and have a backup thimble prussic above the BDB which is connected to a second bridge on my Treemotion via a long webbing loop. I saw the dual bridge setup on these forums, and liked the idea of redundancy. That backup prussic saved me the other day from an uncontrolled descent of about 40 feet.

The cat I had to rescue was at about 50 feet up a large diameter pine tree. My tie-in point was a little under the cat, on the opposite side of the tree (the cat was skittish, so tried to hide from it during ascent). When I reached the tie-in point, I had to pull myself up a little bit and scoot over a large limb to get to the other side of the tree where the cat was. I bagged the cat, and hung the bag off my harness on a tech cord that is a couple of feet long. Coming back, I had to scoot back over the large limb, and for no reason at all, I was in a bit of a rush. I threw all of the gear that was hanging on the wrong side of the limb on the correct side, and this included the bag containing the cat. My rope was a little slack when I was sitting on the large limb, and I decided just to slide off and let the BDB catch me. I expected a drop of a foot or so, but dropped more like 3 feet (at least). I then noticed that I was hanging from my backup prussic and not the BDB.

I looked more closely, and noticed the tech cord of my cat bag had gone OVER THE TOP of the BDB, with the weight of the cat causing the BDB to completely collapse. If I had not had the backup prussic, I would have had an uncontrolled descent down to the base.

Stupid. Welp, I won't make that mistake again. And I have been tempted to disconnect my backup prussic a few times, and I won't do that.

swingdude

De' Island Buzzer