Saluting Branches.

kstreehuggerco

So I was looking up something on a tree science companies web site last night and I noticed a link to an organization called Saluting Branches. It is an organization that uses volunteer arborists to take care of trees in National Cemeteries around the country. Being a vet I am definately down for a day of service taking care of trees in our National Cemeteries. They deal with 22 different cemeteries across the country, I just wish they had one closer to Colorado.

I just thought I would post this here to bring some awareness to the cause. I dont know much about it, but if any of you fellow Buzzers have participated please feel free to tell me all about it. I am already looking at my calender to see when I will be able to take off and participate.

the website is www.salutingbranches.org

Thanks.
Kenn

Saluting_Branches_Logo.jpg

oldoakman

I was priveledged to organize and chair a volunteer work day at Andersonville National Cemetery in 2007 and 2008. It is the site of the infamous Confederate prison camp where 13,000 prisoners died. We worked on trees that were witness to the interment of those 13,000 souls. It truly is hallowed ground. It is also where I met Tom Dunlap. I have looked into doing something with this project, but the closest site for me are almost 400 miles away.

guymayor

I took part at Andersonville with oldoak, then was invited back as a contractor. We strung a lot of steel and copper in those old guys, to prevent what caused the attached events.
Oldoak and I both were holding back the tears when we realized that veteran had to be condemned. I don't think either of us actually succeeded.

9 years ago, gad; time's flyin'!

I wrote to see if we could set up a project closer to home. That list of sites is not a maximum, I trust...

Attachments

kstreehuggerco