Rope Bridge Options

Discussion in 'Climber's Talk' started by Greg_L, Nov 19, 2015.

1. Greg_L

Greg_L Active Member

Zillon Thread got me thinking...anyone have a rope preference for custom rope bridges? Any specific no-nos? I've got a Sequoia I want to do an adjustable bridge on, but I do NOT want the Petzl-made rig, sooo...

2. 123Craig

123Craig Active Member

Only commenting as no-one else has; most of my experience has just been with Samson Velocity (that comes with the Buckingham Rebellion Saddle) - I've really liked it - supple, smooth running. I'm open to trying different types when I change it.

Many others with way more knowledge should chime in; everyone has a preference.

3. Climber429

Climber429 Active Member

I am pretty new to climbing and thought i'd ask why you don't want the Petzl-made? Just got a new Cougar and was considering swapping into a Petzl bridge, just curious about your thoughts on "no" Petzl?

4. Greg_L

Greg_L Active Member

The Petzl-made adjustable bridge isn't as quick to adjust as a roll lock or Kong, etc., for one, and the rope it comes with is much longer than I want...which only leaves me the option of having a piece custom-spliced.

5. Climber429

Climber429 Active Member

I get ya, figured i'd ask as i'm looking at different options and pros/cons to swap to a rope bridge on the Weaver Cougar. I'm new to climbing and my first saddle so i've been thinkin about alot of setups before i settle on an option & the Petzl bridge with Petzl opens was 1 option i was considering.

I appreciate your thoughts, wish i could help more with your situation.

~James

6. yoyoman

yoyoman Well-Known Member

Exactly, the CT RollNLock is so quick and secure. It must be completely unweighted and the Petzl has to be MOSTLY unweighted but then lacks the ease of use.
    Somebody making hardware, please build a RollNLock into a rigging paw..........please.

JefLong, John_KAYS and Climber429 like this.
  7. Climber429

Climber429 Active Member