Possible Mite Damage?

Reach

So I am far from an expert on insect damage, especially on conifers. I’m thinking this looks like mite damage, but I would like a second (third, fourth, fifth...) opinion as to what this is for sure. 9D9B0F32-F636-4B1E-A56A-58CF26252AD2.jpeg

ghostice

Last few years, we have been seeing lot of sick spruce - both black spruce and white spruce (i.e. not Colorado Blues). Some have what looks like a combination of Cytospora, needle cast(s) (Weirs) and late in the summer here, spider mites (there is also something they are calling SNEED which looks a lot like spider mites apparently). Our spider mite infestations are really hard to control, if you can at all - timing of miticide is critical and using a pesticide often just kills off natural predators and the mites come back with a vengence later. Even with control, I've found that the spruce end up looking like they've had the juice sucked out of them - large areas of only vertically downwards limply hanging branches - still green - (see pics) rather than their normal "perky" appearance.
There's lots of miticides (web search) and here's some controls listed for needcast diseases:

sickspruce2.jpg

sickspruce1.jpg

If anyone has brilliant ideas I'd like to hear them too please.

Last edited:

ghostice

Pics are far away but are you sure that's not typical secondary and tertiary branch weeping typical of Norway spruce?
No I don't think so - there's areas where all the trees are about the same age and same planting style and soils etc. yet they're turning out like this. The specimens that do exhibit this weeping have had spider mites for two summers, at end of summer usually. Can't spray the whole neighbourhood though, over and over . . . . (also are black spruces and white spruces, nothing more exotic). But my own theory is it's a combination of things. Sad to watch these trees decline little by little, in spite of care.

ATH