newbie looking for comfortable recreational harness

I am new to recreational tree climbing. I took a two day course at Cornell so as not to kill myself. I bought a newtribe twist because it looked pretty comfortable. Turns out it bites me in the legs and hurts my back and kidneys. Any suggestions for a more comfortable harness would be appreciated. Do i really need to spend $500 on a Tree Motion or Monkey Beaver harness to get comfort?

monkeylove

Probably. Call New Tribe though, they are great people and will walk you through some tips that may help. The Onyx is nice but is also in the $5 range.

Burrapeg

I have a Twist and I had some lower back issues with it also. I bought a replacement wide back pad for a TreeMotion saddle from WesSpur and hand stitched it in place on the Twist. It helped a lot. There are a number of adjustments on the Twist. I had to play around with them for a while to get it dialed in. I also have a Yellow Jacket which is somewhat less adjustable but still a nice saddle for the price. Neither of these saddles have a rope bridge unfortunately but the price is half that of a MB.

Stephen Moore

You can use a rock climbing saddle too if you don't need to pack gear like a saw. Normally less expensive, lighter and you can find some that fit remarkably well! Perhaps a trip to MEC?

Bob Bob

So many factors in choosing a saddle...weight, main use (work or recreational), type (bridge or central tie in point) and storage needs. Comfort is subjective of course.

The Tengu might be a good choice at $245. Many other companies also offer saddles less than $500 including the Petzl Avao ($300), Tree Austria 3.2 , treeMotion light ($375) and Weaver Cougar ($262).

You may find a saddle that sits lower on your hips to be more comfortable, the twist does have a tendency to ride up.

You could also look for a good used saddle on the treebay section of this site if you're comfortable using used gear.