Let It Run

Todd L

My first post on the site. What's up guy's? I'm new to the technical part of tree's and climbing. I have worked on a crew that I believe does most of what they do the wrong way or I can't trust that anything I learned is the correct way. I really enjoy the work. I have watched 100s if not 1000s of videos and have read possibly more post. I am always trying and willing to learn something new because the more I know the safer I feel and the safer I can keep the people around me. I understand the fundamentals of tree structure, loads, and physics, notches, etc. I have full climbing gear/protection and have done a few trees on my own for family and friends. I know the best way to learn is by doing it in person with people that know what they are doing. Not always easy to find. So to my question... I always hear people say "let it run" term is clear I understand it and why it needs to happen, to not put shock loads and other stress on the tree and gear. I haven't been able to find info on the proper way to do this even tho it is talked about so much and lives depend on it. What is the proper way to "let it run"? How to "Let it run as a groundie? I can think of a lot ways this could get out of control with out a proper technique. Even more in depth as when to let it run and on what loads? Portawrap suggested turns per weight/situation? Thanks, Todd

evo

This is where skill comes in. One needs to learn how to estimate weights, distance of fall before rigging is activated, and distance to the ground or target below. In addition, all this needs to be applied to what ever lowering brake is used, rope diameter, and number of turns. Natural crotch with trunk/limb wraps throws more variables with diameters and textures of bark.

Low and slow. Start off with small pieces w/o a wraps or a lowering device, then build from there.

JeffGu