Is fireblight treatable? (once heavily established)

luke capa

We had a some hail last spring and pretty much every crabapple and apple in the area has fireblight. Many are completely covered to the point where sanitation pruning is almost not an option because the entire canopy has fireblight. Is there anything that can be done I have looked into copper sprays and ArborOTC. Should we spend the time to prune out all of the infected branches? (probably not economically feasible due to the time it would take) Will sprays or injections actually prevent the spread or are the trees goners?

GregManning

Super Moderator
Staff member
I am not an expert ................
35+ years ago I had ~35 producing fruit trees (apple, pear, plum, etc).
They got fire-blight.
At that time I was told to prune & spray with streptomycin; which I did for several years.

The trees were doomed.
Pruning without some very effective disinfection, just spread the problem.

There have been a couple threads here on TB about disinfection.
I still do not know how to do it properly, without EXTRAORDINARY time, effort & equipment.

luke capa

Yeah generally we remove trees when fireblight gets real bad im just wondering if anyone has every "cured" a tree with sprays/injections. The hail storm opened up many wounds on the new growth of the trees allowing fireblight to enter. Generally it is spread by bees going to sweet ooze created by the bacterial and they spread it into new flowers but with many open wounds the trees got completely covered.

Tom Dunlap

Here from the beginning
When a client had a tree that served a purpose...screening, shade, flower color..or other criteria I developed a procedure I called 'amputation to death'. The client was never given any hope of curing the disease. We'd cut off the worst limbs and leave the rest.

The client was told to call when the tree looked bad enough to do another amputation.