How do you attach your chainsaw to your lanyard & saddle?

Discussion in 'Climber's Talk' started by Casey Snyder, Nov 14, 2017.

1. Casey Snyder

Casey Snyder New Member

Hello all,

I have been climbing for about 5 years (2 recreation and past 3 in production). I have never felt that my chainsaw connection is great, but it does work. I climb with a Treemotion and use a Husqvarna T540xp with the rear plastic loop on the back. I clip my Buckingham tear away lanyard to the small metal loop and back it up with a DMM micro carabiner. The other end of my lanyard is girth hitched to the back green ring of my Treemotion. Overall I feel like this is a decent set up for me, but it does seem to feel clunky and gets caught up in my saddle and in tight spots in the tree.

Does anyone else have recommendations to improve my setup or please just shoot me pictures of what your set up is!

Thank you.

2. TCtreeswinger

TCtreeswinger Well-Known Member

Try searching here first. Lots of different setups

3. adaycj

adaycj Member

I don't like the big hooks. I also don't use a break away lanyard. I'm also pretty cheap.

I use a "s-biner" from a company called "Nite Ize". I clip it fully around the belt of my saddle, between the back pad and the belt. They come in different sizes, and the one I have is big enough it can lay flat against my hip, but rotates and stays out pretty good when I'm using a saw. My s-biner is plastic and the load rating is really low. So low it is barely rated to hold the saw. I figure this will fail if my saw or lanyard is caught by flying tree parts, but I've haven't tested it to know for sure.

It is holding up shockingly well, but one problem with this method is that eventually the plastic will fail. When it does my saw will fall. I also see quite a few Petzl Caritools in use which are very similar, but don't like to lay flat. I don't know if my plan is worth replicating, but you asked.

4. Huskyman

Huskyman Active Member

5. TreeVB

TreeVB Active Member