Hemlock browning after Imidacloprid treatment.

Let me preface this by saying, I'm new to the PHC game but have been thrown into the deep end. To carry the metaphor, since y'all seem to be the lifeguards on duty, I'm hoping you can keep me from drowning.

We did soil injections of Imidacloprid in March to control for HWA. Just returned to the trees after the owner complained about browning. "Browning" being a couple branches have needles that turn yellow, then brown, and finally fall off. Generally, the trees look pretty healthy (see pic 1).

The neighbor recently put up a wooden fence less than 2 feet from these trees, but the fence didn't appear to damage any of the roots (yet).

After inspecting a number of the affected branches, I found a very small population of needles have some sort of scale(?) (see pics 2-3).

Is this browning normal? Might it be related to the Imidacloprid, the scale, or even the fence?

Attachments

flyingsquirrel25

I would agree with the mite population spike. We have seen it on probably 30% of imid suggested treatments (customer applied). @TsugaPHC would probably be able to shed light on why as he worked closely with someone that did research on why.

flyingsquirrel25

Sorry, Didn't catch the scale comment in the my first reading of the op. That is likely hemlock elongate scale and can be as much of a problem as HWA. The imid should handle that as well in most cases from what we have seen. When we look at hemlock we always look on top for adelgid and flip for scale and determine if treatments are required. Again Mike can add so much more to the hemlock conversation than I, hopefully he will chime in.

JD3000

Didn't see the scale comment either. Imid may help control it, dinotefuron is better with scales.

Neonic insecticides cause increases in populations if spider mites either by somehow negatively affecting predatory and parasitic bugs or perhaps the chemical causes changes to occur to the mites themselves.