HELP!!! Rigging and Backups (Newbie here)

Discussion in 'Climber's Talk' started by Chad Gallion, Aug 26, 2017.

1. Chad Gallion

Chad Gallion New Member

I need some affordable suggestions on what you guys are using in tree for rigging and backups for safely lowering branches/limbs/trunk sections. Photos, weblinks, youtube video links, books/dvd's any and all lol. Any photos or videos of the hardware in use would be great as well.

Im a fairly new climber, with 8 years rigging experience non-tree based. I worked offshore oilfield prior to this new career path. So i have a very good grasp/professional training on the rigging subject just not so much knowledge of the hardware used, whether it be homemade or store bought I want to see what you guys are using and what works best for y'all.

Thanks in advance for the help and information guys and gals.

Last edited: Aug 26, 2017
  2. Tom Dunlap

Tom Dunlap Longest registered member

Welcome to Treebuzz

Take some time to read through the archives. There is 16 years of shared knowledge there

The most important part of rigging and climbing in trees is to learn how to determine the strength of the rigging/ tie in point. Trees are much more variable than industrial scenarios

TimBr, Nish, colb and 1 other person like this.
  3. JeffGu

JeffGu Well-Known Member

These subjects are covered heavily on the forums, but it's my personal opinion that a new thread on the subjects already covered isn't a bad thing... rather cool to see where everybody stands after some time has passed, and perspectives change over time.