First Time Competition Climbing

Im thinking about doing my first competition climb this year, with the WC TCC event. Im contemplating on actually climbing though, because Ive actually never seen an event before, other than some vids online, but at the same time it looks like so much FUN! Don't want to have a bad experience though and not be prepared or fuck up bad. What are some of your recommendations on this? Either way Ill be attending but, would love to compete.

rope-a-dope

Some competitions have apprentice divisions for first time competitors like yourself. This is good for you, because it can be easy to assume the climber knows what's going on.
Competitions can be overwhelming, so may not be the best for absolute beginners, but as long as you are comfortable with using throw line, footlocking, accessing full canopies and climbing without a lot of support I say go for it.
They are fun and the people are usually very supportive and climbers of all levels can learn a lot just by being there. If you decide to enter, read the rules and practice in whatever trees you can find doing stuff that usually doesn't happen at work.

oldoakman

Go for it. Have fun, learn from the veterans, read and understand the rules, and kick ass. Practice throw line, it wins or looses comps. Make sure all your gear is in order and will pass inspection. When is the comp?

southsoundtree

Its definitely speed-climbing, not work climbing.

Always double-triple check your life-support, and know your gear in advance. Injuries and deaths happen in speed-climbing. I was an in-tree tech and watched a guy fiddling with shiny new gear on the ground. He was getting fancy, and almost took a plunge from 50', from a few feet in front of me. Yikes.

It can be fun.
Slim down your gear.
Know the rules.

Practicing for comps will hone efficiency.