Crane Crew Start Up

Tyler Durden

I am starting a new contract, running my own crane crew. I have worked with this crew before and they are super tight knit, so I know things will run great, when I figure everything out. This will be my first time as crew leader for a crane from the ground up.

As of right now, it is just the crane, no slings, no cribbing, no out rigger pads, no the in points. I am looking into finding all of the little things that make a crane gang run smoothly. Senas are my first order, along with a good set of slings.

Is the Mark C kit really worth the extra money? I have always just ran stable braid dead eyes.
Who has a good vendor for plastic cribbimg and pads? I would like to avoid carting around a bunch of dunnage.
What are the little things you full time crane guys have found to be essential on a site? I have worked with cranes, but never running the crew like this.

One of my goals with this crane is cutting hard wood for slabs, and I have no experience with hard wood cutting for timber. This is kind of an experiment in my career and I just want things to go as smoothly as possible.

Thanks Guys

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

colb

One of my goals with this crane is cutting hard wood for slabs, and I have no experience with hard wood cutting for timber.
With your equipment, your disposition, and the commensurate scale of the operation, I would do a market study of current supply/demand. In my market, there is a guy pounding out cheap slabs, often undercutting the other sawyers, so my market is not production, but rather the removal/design/build experience with a single client. The production guy even mills fibrous and bendy live oak, and low quality laurel oak - it's crazy.

If you get negative feedback from your market, relegate this to hobbyist status and minimize the use of your crane and lot towards this end. You don't want milling to suck the money and fun out of the operation, like an underbid hazard removal.