Contract Climbers LLC, S Corp, or Sole proprietor? Why?

Flex Abednego

For those of you who have a state contractors license bonded and insured and contract climb, are you registered as LLC, S Corp, or Sole proprietor? Reason for your choice?
Temporarily in urban SoCal (up to a yr) and not interested in working for a single company

RBJtree

I don't contract climb, but if I did, I would go llc. That's what my business is now. As a sole proprietor, which I used to be, if something bad happens, it goes back straight to you because you and your business are not separate legal entities. As an llc, if you are setup right, your personal property and ability to make a living should be untouchable.
An s corp is too complicated for a single person entity in my opinion, too many rules, and not much benifit. But I am no expert on s corps, maybe someone else knows better.

Flex Abednego

Uhoh. A wild mountain man loose in the big city. Looking forward to the tales. Hey Nic, hope it’s all going your way.
Not exactly loose... came to be close to the family while momma does ASL interpreters program. Just got burned on a gas dryer I bought on Craigslist, already not liking this place. Seems like the few contractor schools I’ve talked to can do the whole thing for around 1,500$

treewill

LLC is the obvious choice if you want to go the standard contract climber route. Minimal paperwork but protects you from liabilities you’d have as a sole proprietor. Then if you want to get more professional, look at creating a subcontractor agreement doc to sign with the folks who hire you.

And make sure to get a good insurance agent; you will need them to do stuff for you like getting additional insured documents last minute when a client requests it the night before a job. Not that that’s ever happened to me ;)

Flex Abednego

Seems like a consensus so far. The contractor school I spoke the most with really seemed to prefer the s Corp for some reason, I’m guessing it makes them more $$